Dumbbell Diaries #5: 3 weeks since injury …

I’m a few entries behind in posting workouts, but the last few have been mostly HIIT-based anyway, due to my limitations in lifting heavy things. However, yesterday I had a FANTASTIC workout with my trainer – he devised a great full body resistance training program that worked around my thumb sprain. Here’s what we did:

Group 1: Reps/Weight (if applicable) or just # Reps if bodyweight only
Goblet squat: 10/15; 10/25; 10/35
Oblique v-ups: 15, 15, 15 (per side)
Decline crunches: 12, 12, 12

Decline crunches always make my abs feel like they are being ripped out of my body – in a good way. I think I need to incorporate these more frequently as it doesn’t take a lot of volume to feel the burn.

Group 2: Reps/Weight (if applicable) or just # Reps if bodyweight only
45 degree leg press: 10/230, 10/230
Superman back extensions: 10, 10/3, 10/3

Was supposed to do a third set of leg press, but the machine kept getting hijacked. I cannot WAIT until I can start doing good old barbell back squats again – leg press machines are for gym bunnies! LOL

Group 3: Reps/Weight (if applicable) or just # Reps if bodyweight only
Cable cross fly chest: 10/10, 10/10, 10/10
Cable cross fly back: 5/20, 5/20, 5/20 (each side)

Group 4: Reps/Weight (if applicable) or just # Reps if bodyweight only
Lat pullover: 10/65, 10/65, 10/65
Forward raises: 10/12, 10/12, 10/12
Single arm row: 5/20, 5/20, 5/20 (each side)

I’m going to do this same routine this weekend, and will attempt to increase the amount of weight on a few of the exercises.

 

Leave a Reply

