Dumbbell Diaries #4: Still Injured …

Tuesday night I did my first solo, post-injury resistance training workout. The first item on my program was running shuttle sprints back and forth across the gym, which I wasn’t too keen on, but MAN did I get my heart rate up! That translated to a fantastic calorie burn in a fraction of the time I used to spend doing steady state cardio. If this HIIT doesn’t blast the fat off me, I don’t know what will.

Workout duration: 65 minutes
Calories burned (per Garmin HRM): 602
Average Heart Rate: 134 BPM 
Max Heart Rate: : 177 BPM

The program looked like this:

-Warmup for 10 minutes walking semi-briskly on treadmill at 3.8 MPH.

-Shuttle run sprints across gym X 5 with 2 min recovery in between.
(Sprint to closest 3-point line, sprint back. Then, sprint to mid-court, sprint back. Then, sprint to further 3-point line, sprint back. Finally, sprint to the far end and sprint back.)

Sprint 1: 40 seconds
Sprint 2: 38 seconds
Sprint 3: 38 seconds
Sprint 4: 39 seconds
Sprint 5: 39 seconds

Then it was time to move to the weight room for the following circuit:

Leg Press (5 sets)
12 reps @ 90 pounds
10 reps @ 140 pounds
10 reps @ 160 pounds
8 reps @ 180 pounds
8 reps @ 230 pounds

I feel like I could do a LOT more on the Leg Press, but this is a new machine for me so I didn’t want to force it. It pretty much sucks as a leg exercise, but I can’t exactly squat or deadlift right now so I am making the best of it.

Superman Back Extensions
3 sets of 10 reps

Front Plank – Hard Style
3 sets of 45 second holds

Side Plank – Hard Style
3 sets of 45 second holds on each side

And that’s it! I was pretty well spent after this session. Looking forward to seeing what the trainer will devise for Thursday.

Leave a Reply

