Less running, and happy about it? Yes, it’s true.

It has been awhile since I updated you three all on my injury and workout situation, so I thought it was about time I wrote an update.

First, the knee is still giving me trouble, but it only seems to flare up when I run long so I’ve modified my workout routine to focus on strength and short, intense cardio sessions, rather than the long slow runs I had grown accustomed to during half-marathon training.

The transition wasn’t easy, and didn’t come without plenty of tears (just ask my husband). I was bitter that I couldn’t run more than 3-4 miles without my knee flaring up, and that my pace had slowed by over a minute per mile.  Perhaps sensing that I needed something new to energize me, Michael suggested that I start working with a trainer at our gym. He had already been working with a trainer for a couple of weeks, and was seeing good results.

I was reluctant to plunk down the Benjamins – trainers do not come cheap, nor should they. But I sucked it up, bought a package of sessions, and anxiously awaited my first session with my trainer.

It turns out my anxiety was unfounded. My trainer and I hit it off immediately, and he’s done a great job of motivating me to push beyond what I think I can do, while still respecting the limitations of my old, injured, body. Every time we meet we run through different exercises for my upper body, lower body, and core. I’m learning areas where I am strong (chest, triceps) and where I am weak (back, shoulders). I actually look forward to my sessions with my trainer, because I know I am going to push past some barrier, which  is one of the main things I love about running. Constant improvement is highly addicting. 🙂

Even though I’ve only been working with my trainer for two weeks, I already feel a difference. I carry myself differently. I have more confidence in my ability to do physical things. I no longer feel like running is the ONLY exercise that I love.

Now before you think I’ve left running completely for my new boyfriend AKA weight training, I am still incorporating intervals on the treadmill prior to every trainer session. I’m starting to get excited about running shorter distances faster, and have an aggressive 5K PR goal in my head that I hope to achieve this Spring. It will be interesting to see what happens!

2 responses to “Less running, and happy about it? Yes, it’s true.

  1. Good luck, Cheryle! Just the fact that you look at your scenario as something that you need to overcome rather than a ‘show-stopper’ speaks volumes to your motivation. We’ll be watching.

  2. Pingback: Confessions of a (former) cardio junkie | Life's Little Bits

Leave a Reply

