(Egg) Salad Days

As a young child in the 1970’s, I divided the world neatly into two distinct camps: people who ate Best Foods mayonnaise, and people who ate Miracle Whip. Our family was firmly in the Best Foods camp, and so were most of my closer relatives and friends. Best Foods mayo was what you added to your canned tuna, to your hamburger bun, and certainly the only acceptable addition to your egg salad.

One day, I was at a new babysitter’s house and I was super excited to see that she was serving egg salad sandwiches for lunch. Yes! I LOVED egg salad! The new babysitter RULES!

Soon, my sandwich was placed before my eager 6-year-old self on a paper plate. There may or may not have been some potato chips, but I didn’t care. I was in it for the sandwich. I took a HUGE bite and immediately recoiled in horror. What the hell???

Miracle Whip.

I was a mayonnaise kid in a Miracle Whip household. It was years before I could eat an egg salad sandwich if it wasn’t prepared by my mom.

Tonight as I was driving home from work I started to crave an egg salad sandwich. So, I stopped at Whole Foods, picked up some eggs, and got to work. Tomorrow, I’ll have an egg salad sandwich for lunch (on lavash instead of squishy white bread, mind you) and probably one for dinner too (the recipe makes a LOT). Here’s what ended up going in the bowlr:

Cheryle’s Egg Salad

6 large hard boiled eggs
1 C celery, finely chopped
1/4 C red onion, minced

2 T light mayonnaise
1 T dijon mustard
1 T fresh thyme, chopped
1 t dill pickle juice
cracked black pepper (to taste)

Combine first three ingredients in a bowl to combine. Add in next five ingredients and toss to coat.

I would say this makes 3 moderate servings, at about 175 calories per serving.
If you’re an egg salad fiend like me,  more like  2 servings at 260 calories.

Egg Salad Recipe
The finished product.

Mmmm … I can hardly wait for lunch tomorrow!

2 responses to “(Egg) Salad Days

  1. OMG – did this take me back to my childhood . Egg salad was always one of my favorites and we didn’t have it very often. I can just imagine your horror at biting in the the sandwich and experiencing Miracle Whip. I grew up in a Best Foods Mayo family and still do not enjoy Miracle Whip.

  2. OMG – did this take me back to my childhood . Egg salad was always one of my favorites and we didn’t have it very often. I can just imagine your horror at biting into the sandwich and experiencing Miracle Whip. I grew up in a Best Foods Mayo family and still do not enjoy Miracle Whip.

Leave a Reply

