Still Injured, Still Crabby, But Turning a Corner

For the first time in a week, I went to the gym to attempt to get a workout in without aggravating my Patellofemoral Syndrome aka Runner’s Knee. It’s been a long time since I’ve been sedentary for an entire week, and I didn’t like it one bit. I was determined to find a workaround for exercise while my knee continues to heal itself.

It turned out that the elliptical trainer with arms was the answer. I dialed the resistance down to 5 from my usual 8 or 10, and pulled and pushed hard with my arms so they took most of the load from my legs. I was skeptical that I would be able to get my heart rate up into a decent range, but at my peak I was up to 162BPM, which is equal to a moderately hard run for me. Sweet!

After 30 minutes on the elliptical, I moved to the recumbent bike with the intent of doing another 15 minutes of cardio, but my knee didn’t like the bike AT ALL. I jumped off after 5 minutes and moved to the weight room where I did:

Dumbbell chest press on bench: 30 reps, 12 pounds
Deadlift: 30 reps, 40 pounds
Crunches on ball: 30 reps
Inner thigh machine: 30 reps (I forgot the weight)
Ouer thigh machine: 30 reps (I forgot the weight)
Plank: full body, held for 60 seconds!

I then did the deadlifts and chest presses again, but quit as I was getting a little light-headed and didn’t have any fuel with me. My weights were nothing to brag about, but a good start after not doing any resistance training for almost two months.

At the end of the workout, I burned 529 calories! Not bad for someone with a gimpy knee.

Although I miss the feeling of running a lot, I’m looking at this injury as an opportunity to become a more well-rounded person. As a cardio junkie who HATES strength training, this injury is forcing me to try some things in the gym that I usually ignore, and that’s a good thing.

Making lemonade out of lemons, that’s my goal …

2 responses to “Still Injured, Still Crabby, But Turning a Corner

  1. Ugh, I am so sorry about your knee. I know exactly how you feel and it sucks. It’s frustrating! The only “good” thing about injury is that it means we have to be creative in our ways to stay fit. I learned to love weight lifting when I couldn’t run!

  2. Yeah, it blows! I am trying to have a positive attitude and learn to love weight lifting, but so far, it’s not sticking!

Leave a Reply

