Injured and Crabby.

While running the Girlfriends Half Marathon three weeks ago, I started to feel pain in my left knee around Mile 10, but I just chalked it up to the distance. I’m not a high mileage kind of gal, and 10 miles might as well be a marathon for me.

Even though I was pretty sore after the race, I was anxious to start running again and started running 3-5 miles a couple times per week. After each run, the old knee would remind me that something was up, but I just chalked it up to my advanced age and pressed on. I wasn’t worried, and I was determined to rock my 10K race on November 12!

Last Saturday, I knew something was reallllyyyyyy wrong as I completed my speed work routine. The dull ache turned into a sharp stabbing pain, which got worse if I walked downstairs or bent my knee in any way. After a Saturday night date with an ice pack, I Googled my symptoms and found a name for what I was feeling – Runner’s Knee or Patellofemoral Syndrome.

I was, of course, upset, but continued on with the elliptical trainer and upright bike on Sunday, hoping that a gentler form of cardio would feel okay.

It so didn’t feel okay.

Since Sunday, I’ve been icing my knee every night and taking ibuprofen, which seems to help a little. Stairs are still a challenge for me, and I find myself having to bend at the waist to pick things up, rather than squatting. I haven’t yet been back to the gym, but plan to go tomorrow to focus on my upper body and core, which are probably weak anyway.

Anyway, not being able to run is making me extremely crabby, and I’m worried that I’m going to start gaining weight without the awesome calorie burn that running provides. I hate going in the pool, but need to find something to replace my favorite form of cardio, which is off limits to me for the time being.

I HATE this, but I will get through this. And if you see me on the street, beware: I may just throw my Garmin at you.

4 responses to “Injured and Crabby.

  1. I know exactly how you feel. You fear stopping because you don’t want lose your endurance, speed and maybe even gain weight. However, there are many good things about this. One, you will get better. Two, you will focus on other forms of exercise. Three, you may find you will lose more weight in the end. First, I will go into detail about some of the bad things. You won’t be able to run for a little while. But, in the grand scheme of things, taking off for about two weeks is nothing compared to running the rest of your life with chronic pain. With this injury I learned one thing, stop running when you know something is not right. Once you feel pain that is not normal and is more than just soreness…stop. The more you work out on an injury the worse it becomes, until you beat it into submission. I did the same exact thing you did with this injury. I kept saying I was ok to run and just kept going. You figure a little pain is normal, but you know when it’s more than just a little pain. I even did the elliptical and bike just like you, but it got worse because I wouldn’t stop. After finally realizing I needed to slow down and take a little over a week off it got better. Like I said in my blog, it pretty much got better overnight, but I still had to be patient. I felt horrible pain for the first 6 days. I thought I would need surgery or something. I was freaking out. But, I rested and rested some more. Suddenly I was walking around with minimal pain. Then, when I started running again it was for 10 minutes one day…then a very slow three miles and so on. I won’t lie and say it was easy. It was really really difficult to not run. But, there were some upsides to it all. I didn’t realize, but I was actually a little burnt out from running. The much needed rest helped me re-energize and I actually came back even stronger and, believe it or not, faster. Plus, when I was able to start working out again I did some workouts I wouldn’t normally do, which actually helped me lose more weight. It’s good to change up your workouts and not just run all of the time. It taught me how important it is to focus on my body as a whole, and not just running with my legs. I actually lost more weight being injured. Of course I had to be a little more careful about what I ate, but it was a good thing. You can’t take for granted how important working out your upper body is, especially your core. You core is what stabilizes you. Take advantage of this opportunity to get stronger. I know I really did and I am grateful for it. Also, the injury will give you a greater appreciation for running. I don’t think we ever would have signed up for a full marathon if I had not been injured before my half marathon. It made me want to run more because there was a time that I couldn’t. It made me want to take advantage of my health. There are times today where I am running and i am so tired and just want to stop and I think about what it felt like to not run when I was injured and it fuels me to keep going. There are so many races out there waiting to be run and it’s important that you take care of your body now because those races are always there waiting for you. I’m sorry you have runner’s knee…please don’t throw your Garmin at me. On second thought, please do because I would really like one. 🙂 You are going to be fine, just be patient. I know it is so much easier said than done. Let me know about your progress. I know exactly what you are going through. You want nothing more than to keep running.

  2. Pingback: Knee rehab strategy | Life's Little Bits

  3. Pingback: Confessions of a (former) cardio junkie | Life's Little Bits

  4. Pingback: Race Report: Heartbreaker 5K, Sunday, February 19 | Life's Little Bits

Leave a Reply

