Waldorf – The Perfect Summer’s End Salad

Last weekend, I was having lunch with my sweet 83-year-old mother, and she mentioned that she had recently made a great Waldorf Salad. I’ve never made one – they seemed kind of boring, a throwback from the 1970’s (maybe earlier, but I wouldn’t know). But as the week wore on and the office Labor Day potluck drew near, I knew I had to try my hand at making this classic picnic staple. 

Waldorf Salad (with a twist) – Serves 8-10
1/2 cup light mayonnaise
1 tablespoon agave nectar (you can also use honey)
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1/8 teaspoon salt
4-5 small apples (or 3 larger ones) — cored, and chopped
1 cup thinly sliced celery
1/2 cup chopped walnuts, toasted
1/2 cup dried cranberries

In a medium bowl, whisk together the mayonnaise, agave nectar, lemon juice, and salt.Toast the walnuts over medium-low heat on the stovetop (about 10 min) Stir in the apples, celery, walnuts, and dried cranberries. Chill until ready to serve.

Waldorf Salad

The traditional recipe calls for white sugar (not a fan) and raisins (not a fan) so I subbed in ingredients that were similar, that I like better. The combination of the sweet cranberries, crunchy apples, and nuts seems particularly satisfying on a warm, late Summer day.

What’s your favorite potluck salad?

2 responses to “Waldorf – The Perfect Summer’s End Salad

  1. my all time favorite picnic salad is potato salad. I make it vegan with additional veggies rather than egg. I use red potatoes and besides celery, onion and pickles I like to add finely chopped red and green bell pepper and what ever else strikes my fancy.

    Your waldorf recipe sounds delish, much more refined and less sweet and gooey. I remember the traditional waldorfs from the 50s and 60s, yuck it was a gooey, sweet mess, and I never liked it.

Leave a Reply

